Consumer Education

The Office of the Kansas Securities Commissioner and the Office of the State Bank Commissioner sponsors the essay competition and awards 5 scholarships to Kansas high school seniors.

2017 Scholarship Contest Winners

2017 Financial Scholars Essay Contest Winners

Congratulations to our 2017 winners!

View 2017 Scholarship Press Release

1st Place: Nathan Buss, Jefferson West High SchoolPDF Icon
2nd Place: Kylee Trout, Scott Community High School
3rd Place: Kyle Unruh, Hillsboro High School
4th Place: Brooke Bulloch, Maize South High School
5th Place: Sydney Hoover, De Soto High School

Honorable mentions: Makenzie Fankhauser, Shawnee Mission East High School; Kim Nguyen, Seaman High School; Seth Tunnell, Wellington High School

2016 Scholarship Contest Winners

2016 Financial Scholars Essay Contest Winners

Congratulations to our 2016 winners!

View 2016 Scholarship Press Release

1st place: Berkley Wiegers, Wamego High School
"Dolly Daniell: A Story of grit, determination and survival" PDF Icon

2nd place: Cynthia Matson, Sunrise Christian Academy

3rd place: Tiffany Willson, Conway Springs High School

4th place: Haley Mills, Derby High School

5th place: Robert Rosas, Scott Community High School

Honorable mention attendees were: Zachery Brunner, Wamego High School; Maggie Miksch, Wamego High School; Chloe Rickman, Eureka High School; Tayler Strickland, Cunningham High School; and Reid Thornburg, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Devin Lamkin, Hillsboro High School; Alma Martinez, Scott Community High School; Tassanee Sanchez, Hillsboro High School; Karisa Schremmer, Hoisington High School; and Sydney Wilson, Sterling High School.

2015 Scholarship Contest Winners

2015 Financial Scholars Essay Contest Winners

Congratulations to our 2015 winners!

View 2015 Scholarship Press Release

1st place: Abby Oberle, De Soto High School
"Callie Hudson - The Legacy of an Entrepreneur" PDF Icon

2nd place: Kaitlyn Dinges, Ness City High School
"Essential Guidance"

3rd place: Keeley Taylor, Haven High School
"Big Decisions Towards a Bright Future"

4th place: Paden Griffiths, Herington High School

5th place: Broque Short, Derby High School
"The Dave Ramsey Effect"