Staff & Banking Board

Michelle Bowman Picture

Michelle W. Bowman

Bank Commissioner

Michelle "Miki" Bowman was confirmed by a unanimous vote in the Kansas Senate as the State Bank Commissioner on January 31, 2017. Miki is a fifth generation banker from Council Grove in the beautiful Flint Hills of Kansas.

Miki joined Farmers & Drovers Bank as Vice President in 2010, just as the Dodd Frank regulations were beginning to take effect. Through her work at the Bank, she has extensive experience in trusts, loans and compliance -- and many other aspects of bank management. Miki is also involved in her family's cattle and farm operation, and is very familiar with the importance of agriculture in the Kansas economy.

Miki earned a Juris Doctorate from the Washburn University School of Law in Topeka and a Bachelor of Science Degree in Advertising and Journalism from the University of Kansas in Lawrence.

In addition to serving as an executive in the banking industry, Miki's professional experience includes working for Senator Bob Dole in Washington, DC and serving as a counsel to the US House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure and Committee on Government Reform and Oversight. Following the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001, Miki was appointed by President George W. Bush to serve as an executive at the Federal Emergency Management Agency as Director of Congressional and Intergovernmental Affairs and, upon its establishment, at the Department of Homeland Security as Deputy Assistant Secretary and Policy Advisor to Secretary Tom Ridge.

Prior to returning to Kansas with her family in 2010, Miki led a government and public affairs consultancy based in London, United Kingdom.

Matt Needham Picture

Matt Needham

Deputy Bank Commissioner
Division of Banking & Trust

A native of northeast Kansas, Deputy Bank Commissioner Matt Needham brings over 15 years of banking, risk management and agriculture experience to the Agency. With roles ranging from bank and holding company board memberships to the front lines, Matt has worked within many financial institutions including CrossFirst Holdings, First Security Bank and First State Bank & Trust and acted as a strategic advisor to community banks throughout the Midwest. His experience at Ernst & Young, LLP further provided an excellent foundation for understanding the complex nature of public and private companies, including financial institutions; specifically regarding financial reporting, compliance, and mergers and acquisitions.

While at CrossFirst, Matt managed strategic initiatives in a fast growing organization and worked closely with other bank executives and Boards of Directors. He advised and negotiated acquisitions and divestitures for banks and bank holding companies, in addition to performing deal structuring, investment valuation, fairness opinions, as well as portfolio and risk management.

Matt is also very cognizant of the importance of agriculture to Kansas having grown up in a farming community and worked within the industry. At Compass Minerals International, he focused on expanding the company’s agricultural presence throughout the Americas. He led strategic development and very large teams to accomplish strategic initiatives, including the acquisition and integration of a company in South America.

Matt is a Certified Public Accountant and has earned the Chartered Financial Analyst designation, bringing a unique and needed perspective to the OSBC’s Banking Division. He is the third generation of his family to graduate from the Colorado Graduate School of Banking, earned an MBA with distinction from Wake Forest University and graduated from Baker University summa cum laude. Matt and his wife have three young children.

Jennifer Cook, Deputy Commissioner for Division of Consumer and Mortgage Lending

Jennifer Cook

Deputy Bank Commissioner
Division of Consumer and Mortgage Lending

Since joining the OSBC in 2013 as Deputy Commissioner, Jennifer has led the Division’s regulatory oversight of non-depository mortgage and consumer credit entities conducting business in Kansas. She led initiatives to streamline and update licensing, examination, and enforcement policies and processes to improve the Division’s regulatory oversight. In addition, she directed the Division’s development of legislation to modernize the relevant state statutes, including the Kansas Mortgage Business Act and the Credit Services Organization Act, and received state legislative approval for these initiatives, as well as approval for updates to agency regulations. Jennifer serves as a liaison to state and federal financial services regulatory agencies and mortgage and consumer credit regulatory associations. In addition, she is working to develop cooperative partnerships with non-depository regulators in the Midwest in an effort to coordinate and streamline licensing and examination processes.

Jennifer joined the Office of the State Bank Commissioner after 11 years on the staff of U.S. Senator Pat Roberts in Washington DC. As Deputy Legislative Director and Legislative Assistant for Senator Roberts, Jennifer handled financial services issues, tax policy, pension, housing, and small business issues. She also served as Senator Roberts’ staff for tax policy issues before the Senate Finance Committee. During her tenure with Senator Roberts, she worked on key financial services legislation including the Dodd-Frank Act, the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act, the Housing and Economic Recovery Act, and the Pension Protection Act.

Prior to joining Senator Roberts’ staff, Jennifer worked in Kansas state government for nearly a decade, serving on the staff of Secretary of State and Governor Bill Graves in various capacities.

She earned a bachelor's degree in Political Science and Communications from Washburn University and a master's degree in Russian and East European Studies from The University of Kansas. Jennifer is a native of Hutchinson, Kansas.

Banking Board:

Chairman, Casey Lair, First Neodesha Bank, Neodesha
Neal Bernauer, Fredonia
Frank Carson III, Carson Bank, Mulvane
Kurt Knutson, Freedom Bank, Overland Park
Irvin D. Mitchell, Wilson
Norman Pishny, Bucyrus
Brian Weisel, Salina
Linda Wessel, Farmers and Drovers Bank, Council Grove
Leonard R. Wolfe, Marysville